Therefore, there is technically no maximum amount of child support in Florida. Instead, the parties must pay an amount that supports the standard of living enjoyed by the family prior to the divorce and that is fair based on the income of both parties, as well as their degree of responsibility in providing child care. The amount of child support is based on guidelines defined in Florida law. Child support guidelines are standards used to determine the support needed for a child and the amount the parent has to pay.
Guidelines help ensure that support amounts are fair Each state has guidelines, but they may be different in each state. The Orlando Family Team child support attorneys will not only explain the entire process to you, but they are here to advocate for your best interests and those of your family. Child support guidelines can provide the basis for proving a change when circumstances have changed. Unfortunately, some parents try to avoid their child support obligation by quitting their jobs or not doing a proper job search.
In a nutshell, the noncustodial parent is authorized to pay the custodial parent monthly child support that varies between 40% and 60% based on their income estimates, under Florida family law. Although many divorcing couples learn to adjust to their children's pressing obligations, these changes require numerous trips to court to make adjustments to child support. Under Florida guidelines, the amount of child support required at any given combined net monthly income level is also based on the number of children involved in the marriage or relationship. No two cases are identical, so it's important to have the right legal guidance to understand your child support rights and responsibilities.
Florida child support guidelines were created to ensure that children experience the same level of comfort and care that you could provide before you divorced. Unfortunately, many people report less than their income to avoid or reduce paying child support. However, a court may demand continued child support after age 18 if the child is dependent due to a mental or physical disability that began before the age of 18, or if the child is between 18 and 19 years old, is still in high school, performs in good faith, and is reasonably expected to graduate earlier 19 To provide you with this explanation, I would like you to follow my explanation by printing a copy of the child support worksheet that can be found on my website. The first step is to calculate the total amount of child support payments required by reviewing the Guidelines.
There are several factors that could make you eligible for child support modification in Florida. For example, if there is equal timeshare, but the mother earns more money, she may be asked to pay child support. Health insurance costs and any out-of-pocket medical, dental, and prescription drug expenses for the child should be included in child support calculations. Before the retroactive child support law was passed, back support for paternity cases was not limited to 24 months and could be traced back to the birth of the child.
Leave a Comment