As a result, noncustodial Florida parents who do not support a current dependent spouse or child (other than a former spouse or the child in the court order) can have up to 60% of their paycheck paycheck for child support. There is a limit to the amount of your wages that can be garnished to pay child support (or child support plus spousal support). Believe it or not, however, the amount you're paying is well below that limit. Under the law, they are entitled to garnish up to 50-65% of parents' disposable income for child support payments.
The court will compare full support responsibilities in the percentage of time each parent has custody of the child. Since 1988, all court orders for the payment of child support automatically include a wage withholding order to pay that amount. The UIFSA can also be used in Florida to secure child support when parents live in different states. In Florida, up to 50 percent of a person's disposable income can be garnished to cover child support.
That percentage can increase to 60 percent for the person who doesn't support a spouse or other child. However, if you owe only spousal support and not child support, the court will not automatically order wage withholding. In addition, child support orders are not amenable to the head of household's defense against garnishments. While there is no real limit on how much a person can be ordered to pay in child support, using the Income Sharing Model ensures that a parent's child support obligation will never exceed their ability to pay.
If you are not currently supporting another child or spouse who is not the subject of the order, up to 60% of your salary can be garnished. If you think you don't have enough to live on after your child support is deducted, it's a matter for you to bring to the family court judge. In addition, the court should consider allowing a payment plan for the full amount of retroactive child support in a timely manner. Therefore, under the UIFSA, a Tampa child support lawyer can take legal action to enforce a child support order on a resident of another state.
In addition, a parent can sue for retroactive child support even after the child turns 18. Florida has strict child support laws to ensure that a parent pays the required amount of support. The amount paid can be deducted from the parent's gross income used for Florida child support payment calculations.
Leave a Comment